Visit from a French senatorial delegation

A delegation from the France-Caribbean friendship group of the French Senate made a working visit to Kingston on the 23rd and 24th of April 2018.
Led by Mrs. Hélène Conway-Mouret, senator representing French citizens living overseas, former Minister and President of the friendsip group, the delegation was also comprised of Mrs. Catherine Conconne, senator representing Martinique, and of Mr. Pierre Louault, senator representing Indre-et-Loire, a French department located in the Val de Loire region (Central France).
This working visit allowed the members of the French Senate to meet great figures of Jamaica’s political life, such as Mr. Thomas Tavares-Finson, Mr. Aubyn Hill, Mr. Delroy William, as well as Mrs. Kamina Johnson-Smith. Together, they talked about the warming up of the relations between our two countries, the role played by the CARICOM, climate change and hurricane prevention, and the regional integration of French Caribbean territories.
The French senatorial delegation also met with Mrs. Diane Edwards, president of JAMPRO, and address strategic economic sectors in Jamaica such as the tourism industry, the Kingston harbor, as well as possible future cooperation with French companies.
Furthermore, the topics of cultural and academic exchanges and francophonie were also dealt with through visits at the Alliance Française de la Jamaïque, Shortwood Teachers’ College and University of the West Indies.
The senatorial delegation intends to use this first visit to work on tightening relations between Jamaica and France in all these sectors.

Rencontre avec Mme Kamina Johnson-Smith, Ministre des Affaires Etrangères et du Commerce Extérieur
Rencontre avec le Maire de Kingston, M. Delroy Williams
Visite du Sénat jamaïcain avec MM. Thomas Tavares-Finson et Aubyn Hill
Visite du port de Kingston
Rencontre avec Mme Diane Edwards, Président de JAMPRO

Dernière modification : 27/08/2018

top of the page